Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Responsibilities and Accountability

Accountability to Taxpayers

Since the Agency receives its funding through parliamentary appropriations, it has a responsibility to Parliament and to the Canadian people to ensure that the public funds put in its trust are well managed.

To this end, College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program funds must be used efficiently, effectively, economically and in the best interest of the institutions supported by the grant.

Roles and Responsibilities

The administration of funds granted by an Agency is carried out by three partners: the authorized representative (as identified on the application), the institution, and the Agency. Refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research for researchers' responsibilities when applying for, or in receipt of, Agency funds, and to the This link will take you to another Web site Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions for more details on administration of funds granted.

In accordance with federal laws and policies regarding grants, the Agency verifies eligibility for, and entitlement to, grants.

The Agency defines the conditions under which its funds may be used, monitors the use of grants and interprets its rules and requirements for the institutions and the authorized representative.

CCI grants are awarded to the Agency's eligible institutions and are administered through the institution's administration systems. The authorized representative authorizes expenditures in accordance with the Agency's requirements as outlined in this guide, or as stated as a condition of a grant, and with the institution's policies. No one may initiate or authorize expenditures from a grant account without the authorized representative's delegated authority.

Each institution establishes appropriate procedures, systems and controls to ensure that Agency policies and requirements are followed. The institution has the right and responsibility to withhold and withdraw approval of expenditures proposed by an authorized representative that contravene the Agency's requirements or the institution's policies and, when appropriate, to seek advice or ruling from the Agency on the eligibility of expenses.

Administrative, personnel and accounting procedures must conform to the standards, practices and policies of the authorized representative's institution.

Deviation from Proposed Activities and/or Budget

The authorized representatives managing grants must adhere to the activities and budget specified in the approved proposal. However, during the tenure of the grant, reallocation of more than 20% of any budget item to other items is permitted upon the Agency's approval of a revised budget and justification for the changes. If an institution is not awarded all the funding that was originally requested, it can modify its activities according to the funding that it receives. Modified activities must still address the objectives of the original application and can be made only if the Agency did not direct funding to a particular aspect of the proposal (that information would appear in the award letter). All adjustments should be documented. Any changes to the projects/activities supported by the grant funds must be discussed with the Agency's Program Manager. A revised budget will be required.

Financial Monitoring

Representatives of the Agency will conduct periodic reviews of the institutions’ management control framework to:

  • assess the effectiveness of policies, systems and internal controls within the institution;
  • confirm that the institution fulfills its research grant funds management responsibilities as outlined in the This link will take you to another Web site Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions;
  • ascertain the level of confidence that research funds are used in accordance with Tri-Agency requirements; and
  • share and disseminate information on guidelines and expectations for the continuous improvement of research fund management.

For information regarding the criteria used to assess the institutions’ management control framework, refer to the Collaborative Information Gathering Tool.

Non-Compliance

Authorized representatives are responsible for using grant funds in accordance with the policies of the Agency, including the College and Community Innovation Program Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide and Agency grants and awards guides, and for providing true, complete and accurate information on documentation for expenditures from grant or award accounts.

Using grant or award funds for purposes inconsistent with the policies of the Agency; misappropriating grants and award funds; contravening Agency financial policies, namely the College and Community Innovation Program Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide, Agency grants and awards guides; or providing incomplete, inaccurate or false information on documentation for expenditures from grant or award accounts all constitute breaches of the Agencies' policies.

For information on how the Agencies addresses allegations of breaches of the College and Community Innovation Program Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide or other Agency policies, please refer to the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research, This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Process for Addressing Allegations of Policy Breaches by Researchers (section 6.1).

Matters involving financial mismanagement, where there is evidence of fraud or other unlawful activity, are referred to the appropriate authorities as per the Treasury Board This link will take you to another Web site Directive on Losses of Money or Property.

Acknowledgement

Support for applied research by CCI grants are investments by Canadian taxpayers. The Agencies' accountability regarding this use of grant funds includes informing the public about who receives the support, the type of applied research that will be conducted and how funds will be administered.

Institutions are required to acknowledge the Agency's assistance in publications arising from the supported research, in conference or congress materials, and on equipment and facilities purchased and/or developed with grant funds.

Intellectual Property/Patents

The Agencies make no claim to ownership of any intellectual property (IP) generated from the research they fund. As a general principle, institutions need to develop and sign an agreement with each company partner on the ownership and disposition of IP arising from the CCI-funded applied research before initiating any grant activities. Any agreements made regarding the ownership of the IP resulting from the CCI-funded research must take into account the CCI objective of creating partnerships. This implies a sharing of eventual benefits between the partners commensurate with their respective contributions, as well as the sharing of the costs to protect the IP.

Given the purpose of the projects, and the fact that they are company-driven, the institutions must have the right to use the new knowledge or technology in future teaching and research, and faculty and students must have the right to describe the project on their curricula vitae.

Open Access

The Agencies are committed to promoting the availability of findings that result from the research they fund to the widest possible audience at the earliest possible opportunity. Societal advancement is made possible through widespread and barrier-free access to cutting-edge research and knowledge because it enables researchers, scholars, clinicians, policymakers, the private sector, not-for-profit organizations, and the public to use and build on this knowledge. In order to support this commitment, NSERC, CIHR, and SSHRC have developed a This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications. Please refer to the policy for more details on how to comply with its requirements.  

Archiving of Research Data (SSHRC Only)

SSHRC is committed to the principle that research data collected with grant funds belong in the public domain. Accordingly, SSHRC has adopted a policy to facilitate making such data available to other researchers. All recipients of SSHRC funding are required to comply with the SSHRC This link will take you to another Web site Research Data Archiving Policy.

Institutions must also abide by the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research, This link will take you to another Web site Promoting Research Integrity (section 2.1.2).

Ownership of Collections and Specimens

Scientifically valuable collections of animal, culture, plant or geological specimens, or archaeological artifacts collected by an authorized representative with grant funds are the property of the institution. They must be held in trust for the research community, which should have reasonable access to them. Such collections must be deposited as quickly as possible in an appropriate repository.

However, the Agency's policy on ownership of collections or specimens does not supersede any federal or provincial legislation on this issue.

The Agency's intention is not to restrict standard and recognized procedures of exchange of material and specimens between researchers and institutions, but to better ensure their continuing good condition and future availability.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Responsabilités et obligation de rendre compte

Obligation envers les contribuables

Les fonds de l'organisme proviennent de crédits parlementaires. Par conséquent, il a la responsabilité envers le Parlement et les Canadiens de s'assurer que les fonds publics qui lui sont confiés sont administrés de façon judicieuse.

À cette fin, les fonds accordés en vertu du Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) doivent être utilisés avec efficience, efficacité et économie dans le meilleur intérêt des établissements appuyés par une subvention.

Rôles et responsabilités

Les subventions accordées par un organisme sont administrées par trois partenaires : le représentant autorisé (dont le nom figure dans la demande de subvention), l'établissement et l'organisme. Consultez le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche pour connaître les responsabilités des chercheurs qui demandent ou reçoivent des fonds des organismes et l'Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Entente sur l'administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'administration des fonds accordés.

Conformément aux lois et aux politiques fédérales concernant les subventions, l'organisme vérifie l'admissibilité des établissements à une subvention.

L'organisme définit les conditions régissant l'utilisation des fonds de subvention, contrôle l'utilisation des subventions et interprète ses règlements et ses exigences pour les établissements et le représentant autorisé.

Les subventions d'ICC sont accordées à des établissements admissibles aux programmes de l'organisme et sont administrées par l'entremise des systèmes d'administration des établissements. Le représentant autorisé d'un établissement autorise les dépenses conformément aux exigences de l'organisme, telles qu'elles sont définies dans le présent guide, ou telles qu'elles sont précisées à titre de modalités d'une subvention, et aux politiques de l'établissement. Personne ne peut initier ni autoriser des dépenses imputées à un compte de subvention sans obtenir au préalable l'autorisation déléguée du représentant autorisé de l'établissement.

Chaque établissement définit des procédures, des contrôles et des systèmes pertinents afin d’assurer le respect des politiques et des exigences de l’organisme. L’établissement a le droit et la responsabilité de refuser ou de retirer son approbation des dépenses proposées par un représentant autorisé si celles-ci contreviennent aux exigences de l’organisme ou aux politiques de l’établissement et, si cela convient, peut demander conseil à l’organisme ou lui demander de se prononcer sur l’admissibilité des dépenses.

Les procédures relatives à l'administration, au personnel et à la comptabilité doivent être conformes aux normes, aux pratiques et aux politiques de l'établissement du représentant autorisé.

Dérogation aux activités ou au budget proposés, ou les deux

Le représentant autorisé d’un établissement responsable de l’administration d’une subvention doit se conformer aux activités et au budget qui figurent dans la demande approuvée. Cependant, au cours de la période de validité de la subvention, pour réaffecter à d’autres postes budgétaires plus de 20 % des fonds attribués à un poste particulier, le titulaire de la subvention doit au préalable soumettre à l’approbation de l’organisme un budget modifié et la justification des changements. Si un établissement reçoit seulement une partie des fonds demandés dans sa proposition initiale, il peut modifier ses activités proposées selon le financement accordé. Toutefois, les activités modifiées doivent tout de même viser les objectifs énoncés dans la proposition initiale. De plus, les activités peuvent être modifiées seulement si l’organisme n’a pas recommandé d’affecter les fonds à un aspect particulier de la proposition (indiqué dans la lettre d’octroi). Il faut documenter les moindres changements apportés au projet initial. Si un établissement souhaite apporter un changement aux projets ou aux activités appuyés par une subvention, il devra en discuter avec un administrateur de programme de l’organisme et fournir un budget révisé.

Surveillance financière

Des représentants de l’organisme examineront périodiquement le cadre de contrôle de la gestion des établissements afin :

  • d’évaluer l’efficacité des politiques, des systèmes et des mesures de contrôle internes utilisés par l’établissement;
  • de confirmer que l’établissement s’acquitte de ses responsabilités en matière de gestion des fonds de subvention conformément à l’This link will take you to another Web site Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche;
  • de déterminer que le niveau de confiance quant à l’utilisation des fonds de recherche conformément aux exigences des trois organismes subventionnaires est adéquat;
  • de partager et de diffuser de l’information sur les lignes directrices et les attentes relatives à l’amélioration continue de la gestion des fonds de recherche.

Pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet des critères employés pour évaluer le cadre de contrôle de la gestion des établissements, reportez-vous à l’Outil de cueillette d’information des établissements.

Non-respect

Les représentants autorisés sont tenus d'utiliser les subventions en conformité avec les politiques de l'organisme, notamment le Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté et les guides des subventions et des bourses de l'organisme, ainsi que de fournir de l'information véridique, complète et exacte au sujet de la documentation liée aux dépenses imputées aux comptes d'une subvention ou d'une bourse.

Utiliser les fonds de la subvention ou de la bourse à des fins qui ne sont pas conformes aux politiques de l'organisme; détourner les fonds d'une subvention ou d'une bourse; ne pas respecter les politiques financières de l'organisme, à savoir le Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté et les guides de l'organisme pour les subventions et les bourses; ou fournir de l'information incomplète, inexacte ou fausse au sujet de la documentation liée aux dépenses imputées aux comptes d'une subvention ou d'une bourse constituent une violation des politiques de l'organisme.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont l’organisme traite les allégations de non-conformité au Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté ou de violation d’autres politiques de l’organisme, consultez la section 6.1, intitulée This link will take you to another Web site Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de violation des politiques par des chercheurs du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche.

Les cas de mauvaise gestion financière pour lesquels il y a des preuves de fraude ou d'autre activité illégale sont transférés aux autorités pertinentes, conformément à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Directive sur les pertes de fonds et de biens du Conseil du Trésor.

Reconnaissance

Les subventions accordées dans le cadre du Programme d'ICC pour la recherche appliquée constituent un investissement de la part des contribuables canadiens. La responsabilité de l'organisme en ce qui a trait à l'utilisation des fonds de subvention comprend l'obligation d'informer le public du nom des établissements qui reçoivent un appui, du type de recherche appliquée qui sera effectuée et de la façon dont les fonds seront administrés.

Les établissements sont tenus de reconnaître l'appui de l'organisme dans les publications découlant des recherches subventionnées, dans les documents de conférences et de congrès ainsi que sur l'appareillage et dans les installations achetés ou mis au point grâce aux fonds de subvention.

Propriété intellectuelle et brevets

Les organismes ne revendiqueront aucun droit à l'égard de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) issue des travaux de recherche qu'ils financent. De façon générale, avant même d'entreprendre les activités appuyées par le Programme d'ICC, les établissements doivent élaborer et signer une entente avec chaque entreprise partenaire concernant les droits de PI et la cession de la PI découlant de la recherche appliquée financée au moyen de la subvention. Toutes les ententes sur les droits de PI découlant de la recherche financée en vertu du Programme d'ICC doivent prendre en compte l'objectif de création de partenariats visé, ce qui suppose un partage entre les partenaires des retombées éventuelles, au prorata de leur contribution respective, ainsi que le partage des coûts de protection de la PI.

Compte tenu de la finalité des projets et du fait qu'ils sont pilotés par des entreprises, les établissements doivent avoir l'autorisation d'utiliser les connaissances ou les technologies nouvelles dans le cadre d'activités d'enseignement ou de recherche ultérieures; de plus, les professeurs et les étudiants participants doivent avoir l'autorisation de décrire le projet dans leur curriculum vitæ.

Libre accès

Les organismes subventionnaires sont déterminés à favoriser la diffusion le plus rapidement possible des résultats de la recherche qu’ils financent auprès du plus grand nombre possible de personnes. On favorise les progrès sociaux en permettant aux chercheurs, aux universitaires, aux cliniciens, aux décideurs, aux organisations du secteur privé, aux organisations sans but lucratif et au grand public d’accéder librement et facilement aux connaissances et aux résultats de la recherche de pointe afin de les utiliser et de les mettre à profit. Afin de respecter cet engagement, le CRSNG, les IRSC et le CRSH ont élaboré la This link will take you to another Web site Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications. Consultez la politique pour savoir comment se conformer à ses exigences. 

Archivage des données de recherche (CRSH seulement)

Le CRSH s’est engagé à respecter le principe selon lequel les données de recherche recueillies à l’aide de fonds de subvention sont du domaine public. Par conséquent, il a adopté une politique visant à faciliter l’accès à ces données pour les autres chercheurs. Tous les bénéficiaires de financement du CRSH doivent se conformer à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur l’archivage des données de recherche du CRSH.

Les établissements doivent également promouvoir l’intégrité en recherche conformément à la section 2.1.2, intitulée  This link will take you to another Web site Promotion de l’intégrité en recherche du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche.

Propriété des collections et des spécimens

Les collections de spécimens animaux, botaniques, géologiques ou de cultures de valeur sur le plan scientifique ou les artefacts archéologiques qui sont recueillis par un représentant autorisé à l'aide de fonds de subvention sont la propriété de l'établissement. Elles doivent être détenues en fiducie au nom de la collectivité de recherche qui devrait y avoir un accès raisonnable. De telles collections doivent être déposées dès que possible dans un dépôt approprié.

Cependant, la politique de l'organisme sur la propriété des collections ou des spécimens ne remplace pas la législation fédérale ou provinciale sur ce sujet.

L'organisme ne vise pas à restreindre les procédures normalisées et reconnues d'échange d'appareillage et de spécimens entre les chercheurs et les établissements, mais plutôt à veiller à conserver l'appareillage et les spécimens en bon état et à en assurer l'accessibilité future.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.