Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes With Robert Seiringer
Department of Mathematics and Statistics,
McGill University


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Robert Seiringer

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:55

Release Date

July 22, 2013

Description

One of the most difficult challenges faced by physicists and mathematicians involves understanding how molecules and atoms, in their various forms, behave collectively. Deceptively simple questions related to this area of study, such as how and why ice forms, still lack complete explanations. The situation becomes even more complicated when quantum mechanicsóthe laws that apply to materials at the atomic levelóare added to the mix.

Robert Seiringer of McGill University, considered one of the leading mathematical physicists in the world under the age of 40, is exploring some of the mathematical problems surrounding these collective behaviours.

Transcript
Robert Seiringer

Pretty much all our theories we have–be they in physics, chemistry, biology or astronomy–are formulated in mathematical language. So mathematics seems to be the universal language that applies when it comes to natural phenomena. And mathematics is not at all a closed subject like many outsiders think: itís something that theyíve learned in school and thatís it. No, mathematics is a science like all the others, and constantly new things are being developed and being explored. And the kind of mathematics I would like to develop or explore is one that might be particularly useful for applications in physics.

I can only truly understand the physics if I can actually understand the mathematics behind the theory.† So, my motivation is on the physics side–I would consider myself a physicist–but the way I work is more like the work of a mathematician.†

Concretely, what I do is called quantum statistic mechanics or quantum many-body problems.† So we try to understand how the microscopic laws of nature that govern the motion of atoms and molecules how they lead to the many different phenomena that we observe in macroscopic systems.

So a simple example is water and ice. The main constituents are the same.† Itís just–itís just the water molecules but, depending on external parameters like the pressure or the temperature, they might look very different in practice, right?† Not only that, the mathematical theory describing them is exactly the same. One big challenge is to understand how this is–how can the same equations on the microscopic level lead to such drastically different effects on the macroscopic level. And thatís the basic question Iím trying to understand using modern mathematical tools.†

The better we understand nature, the better we understand the structure of materials and so on, and the better we will be able to manipulate them. If one looks back in history, the people who invented our modern theory of quantum mechanics almost 100 years ago, they certainly didnít have in mind the fact that nowadays we would be using computers and cellular telephones and all this technology, which as a basic input needed our understanding of quantum mechanics which, came much, much earlier.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
Robert Seiringer
Département de mathématiques et de statistique,
Université McGill


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Robert Seiringer

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:55

Date de diffusion

le 22 juillet 2013

Description

Comprendre le comportement collectif des divers types de molécules et d’atomes représente l’un des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontés les physiciens et les mathématiciens. Il n’existe pas encore d’explication complète pour certaines questions liées à ce domaine d’étude qui peuvent paraître d’une grande simplicité, par exemple comment et pourquoi la glace se forme. La situation se complexifie lorsque la mécanique quantique – les lois qui s’appliquent aux matériaux à l’échelle atomique – entre en jeu.

Robert Seiringer de l’Université McGill, qui est considéré comme l’un des grands physiciens mathématiciens du monde âgés de moins de 40 ans, explore certains problèmes mathématiques associés à ces comportements collectifs.


Transcription
Robert Seiringer

La plupart des théories qui existent — que ce soit en physique, en chimie, en biologie, en astronomie — sont formulées en langage mathématique, les mathématiques semblent donc être le langage universel qui est utilisé pour expliquer les phénomènes naturels. Le monde des mathématiques n’est pas du tout fermé, comme le pensent de nombreux profanes : c’est quelque chose qu’ils ont appris à l’école, point final. Non, les mathématiques sont une science comme toutes les autres, où de nouvelles questions sont constamment formulées et explorées. Et les mathématiques que j’aimerais développer ou explorer sont celles qui pourraient être particulièrement utiles dans le domaine de la physique.

Je ne peux véritablement comprendre la physique que si je peux vraiment comprendre les principes mathématiques sur lesquels repose la théorie. Alors ma motivation me vient de la physique – je me considère comme un physicien – mais ma façon de travailler ressemble davantage à celle d’un mathématicien.

Concrètement, ce que je fais s’appelle la mécanique statistique quantique ou les problèmes quantiques à N corps. Nous essayons de comprendre comment les lois microscopiques de la nature qui régissent le mouvement des atomes et des molécules créent les nombreux différents phénomènes que nous observons dans les systèmes macroscopiques.

Prenons un exemple simple : l’eau et la glace. Elles sont formées des mêmes principaux éléments. Ce ne sont que des molécules d’eau, mais, selon des paramètres externes comme la pression ou la température, elles pourraient être très différentes en pratique, n’est-ce pas? Et de plus, la théorie mathématique qui les décrit est exactement la même. Le grand défi est de comprendre pourquoi les mêmes équations à l’échelle microscopique ont des effets si radicalement différents à l’échelle macroscopique. C’est la question fondamentale que j’essaie d’éclaircir à l’aide d’outils mathématiques modernes.

Mieux nous comprendrons la nature, mieux nous connaîtrons la structure de la matière, mieux nous pourrons la manipuler. Jetons un œil sur le passé : les personnes qui ont inventé notre théorie moderne de la mécanique quantique il y a presque 100 ans n’imaginaient certainement pas que nous utiliserions un jour des ordinateurs, des téléphones cellulaires et toute cette technologie dont la création aurait été impossible sans la connaissance de la mécanique quantique, qui est par contre beaucoup, beaucoup plus ancienne.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.