Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2011 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

David Vocadlo

Chemistry

Simon Fraser University


David Vocadlo
David Vocadlo

Cancer and Alzheimer’s disease are among the most dreaded diagnoses. Every breakthrough in new therapies brings hope to people with such diseases and to their families.

David Vocadlo, of Simon Fraser University, is pushing the boundaries of knowledge using innovative chemistry approaches in the field of glycobiology to generate new treatment options. He is a recipient of a 2011 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship for his investigative research.

Carbohydrates form many complex structures, known as glycoconjugates, that are found inside and on the surface of cells. Dr. Vocadlo’s work focuses on understanding and manipulating the enzymes that assemble and break down these glycoconjugates, as well as the roles of these enzymes in biology.

Dr. Vocadlo’s research team has made groundbreaking discoveries, highlighting enzymes that process a glycoconjugate known as O-GlcNAc. Their research clarified how they work at the molecular level. By controlling these enzymes in cells, they have shed light on the involvement of O-GlcNAc in insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes. Taking this work further, his group provided new insights into how the same glycoconjugate could play a role in Alzheimer’s disease.

Now, Dr. Vocadlo aims to advance a deeper understanding of the basic biological roles of glycoconjugates by probing their roles in regulating the expression of genes. This leading-edge research will provide valuable knowledge that could broaden understanding in the field of glycobiology, perhaps leading to the development of new medical therapies for cancer based on carbohydrates.

Dr. Vocadlo also leads a team investigating an innovative carbohydrate-based approach to fighting antibiotic-resistant bacteria. The group is working to create compounds that block the bacteria from sensing and responding to some antibiotics. This new stealth approach to the problem might overcome the growing threat of certain types of antibiotic resistance.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2011

David Vocadlo

Chimie

Simon Fraser University


David Vocadlo
David Vocadlo

Les diagnostics de cancer et de maladie d’Alzheimer sont parmi les plus redoutés. Chaque percée relative aux nouvelles thérapies donne de l’espoir aux personnes atteintes de ces maladies et à leur famille.

David Vocadlo, de la Simon Fraser University, repousse les frontières des connaissances en utilisant des méthodes chimiques innovatrices dans le domaine de la glycobiologie en vue d’offrir de nouveaux traitements. Ses travaux de recherche lui ont valu une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2011.

Les glucides entrent dans la composition de nombreuses structures complexes appelées glycoconjugués, qui sont situés à l’intérieur et à la surface des cellules. M. Vocadlo tente de comprendre et de manipuler les enzymes qui sont responsables de l’assemblage et de la décomposition des glycoconjugués, ainsi que le rôle de ces enzymes en biologie.

Les découvertes révolutionnaires de l’équipe de M. Vocadlo portent sur les enzymes associées au glycoconjugué appelé O GlcNAc. Ces travaux de recherche clarifient leur fonctionnement à l’échelle moléculaire. En étudiant ces enzymes dans les cellules, l’équipe a révélé le rôle de l’O GlcNAc dans la résistance à l’insuline et le diabète de type 2. En poussant les travaux, elle a fait des découvertes sur le rôle que le l’O GlcNAc pourrait jouer dans la maladie d’Alzheimer.

M. Vocadlo veut maintenant en apprendre davantage sur les rôles biologiques fondamentaux des glycoconjugués en étudiant leurs rôles dans la régulation de l’expression génétique. Ces travaux de pointe fourniront de précieuses données qui pourraient accroître les connaissances dans le domaine de la glycobiologie et même mener à l’élaboration de nouvelles thérapies contre le cancer basées sur les glucides.

En outre, M. Vocadlo dirige une équipe qui étudie une méthode innovatrice basée sur les glucides qui permettrait de lutter contre les bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques. L’objectif est de créer des composés qui empêcheraient les bactéries de détecter et de contrer les antibiotiques. Cette nouvelle méthode indirecte pourrait écarter la menace grandissante que représente la résistance à certains antibiotiques.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.