Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links


Northern Research Chairs were established to augment and promote Canadian university northern research and training in the natural sciences and engineering. The program’s long-term goal is to increase Canadian university expertise in northern research issues and to provide a training environment for northern researchers of the future. It will also provide new knowledge required to understand the North and predict its future.

Program description

Current Chairholders

Christopher Burn Carleton University Permafrost in the Yukon and Northwest Territories
John England University of Alberta Environmental Change in Arctic Canada: Ice Age to Present
Murray Humphries McGill University Wildlife Biology and Traditional Food Security in Canada's Changing North
Serge Payette Université Laval Ecology of Subarctic Forests
Brent Wolfe Wilfrid Laurier University Present and Past Hydro-ecology of the Mackenzie Basin Deltas