Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC Young Innovators

In 2018, NSERC launched a five-year pilot initiative to support the promotion of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) to Canadian youth as part of helping foster a science and engineering culture in Canada.

The purpose of the NSERC Young Innovators grant is to encourage youth to be creative in the natural sciences and engineering, by supporting their participation in competitions, thus becoming role models for other youth.

NSERC is acting on the evidence that equity, diversity and inclusion strengthen the scientific and engineering communities and the quality, social relevance and impact of research. Organizations are encouraged to consider using the grant to support youth from groups who are under-represented or disadvantaged in STEM, or those who would otherwise not be able to participate.

Eligibility

To be eligible, you must be:

  • an organization that runs or hosts a recognized science or engineering competition in Canada for youth in elementary school or high school (including the equivalent first year of college in Quebec);
  • federally or provincially incorporated as a not-for-profit organization.

Value of grant

The value of the grant is $1,000. Each organization can receive a maximum of one grant per fiscal year (April 1–March 31).

Requirements

  • Youth supported with the grant must participate in a recognized science or engineering competition
  • They must be in elementary school or high school (including the equivalent first year of college in Quebec)
  • The full value of the grant must be used to support the participation of youth in the organization’s own event or the participation of youth in the next level of the competition (such as regional, provincial, national or international)
  • The grant may be used to support one individual, a team, or several independent youth
  • The organization must share publicly the results of youth participation  in the competition (e.g., on social media), including an acknowledgement of NSERC support, and report these results back to NSERC.

Eligible expenses

The grant will cover the following costs associated with the participation of the youth in a competition in the natural sciences and engineering:

  • material and supplies needed for creating a poster, model, and/or demonstration to be used in the competition
  • travel (air, rail, car rental, taxi, etc.) to the venue
  • meals
  • accommodation (hotel, etc.)
  • registration for the competition

Application procedures

Organizations must submit a completed NSERC Young Innovators Application Form electronically via the This link will take you to another Web site Secure Submissions Site for NSERC’s Innovative Collaborations and Science Promotion Programs. The application must be submitted as a single document in Portable Document Format (PDF).

Application deadline

There are no fixed deadlines for this grant. Applications must be submitted between two and six months before the competition for which the requested funding will be used, to ensure sufficient time for processing and payment.

Notification of results

NSERC will notify you of the result within one month of receiving the application, at the email address given on the application. Grants will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis until all available funds for the fiscal year (April 1–March 31) have been spent.

For more information, or any questions about the initiative or the application process, contact us at ambassadors@nserc-crsng.gc.ca and indicate “NSERC Young Innovators” in the subject line.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Jeunes innovateurs du CRSNG

En 2018, le CRSNG a lancé une initiative pilote quinquennale afin de faire la promotion des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) auprès des jeunes Canadiens en vue de favoriser une culture des sciences et du génie au Canada.

Le but de la subvention pour jeunes innovateurs du CRSNG est d’encourager les jeunes à faire preuve de créativité dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie en appuyant leur participation à des concours, faisant d’eux des modèles pour leurs pairs.

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du fait que l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion renforcent les milieux scientifiques et du génie ainsi que la qualité, les retombées et l’utilité pour la société des travaux de recherche. Les organismes sont invités à envisager d’utiliser la subvention pour appuyer des jeunes de groupes sous-représentés dans les domaines des STIM ou des jeunes qui ne pourraient pas participer à des concours sans ce financement.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissible, votre organisme doit :

  • être un organisme qui lance ou organise un concours en sciences ou en génie qui est reconnu au Canada et destiné à des jeunes de l’élémentaire ou du secondaire (y compris la première année d’études collégiales au Québec);
  • être constitué en organisme sans but lucratif en vertu d’une loi fédérale ou provinciale.

Valeur de la subvention

La valeur de la subvention est de 1 000 $. Chaque organisme peut recevoir un maximum d’une subvention par exercice (du 1er avril au 31 mars).

Exigences

  • Les jeunes qui bénéficient de la subvention doivent participer à un concours en sciences naturelles ou en génie reconnu.
  • Ils doivent être inscrits à une école primaire ou secondaire au Canada (ou encore à la première année d’études collégiales au Québec).
  • Le plein montant de la subvention doit être utilisé pour appuyer la participation de jeunes à une activité de l’organisme même ou la participation de jeunes au niveau suivant du concours (à l’échelle régionale, provinciale, nationale ou internationale).
  • La subvention peut être utilisée pour appuyer un jeune innovateur, une équipe de jeunes innovateurs ou plusieurs jeunes indépendants.
  • L’organisme doit diffuser publiquement les résultats de la participation du ou des jeunes au concours (p. ex., dans les médias sociaux), en mentionnant l’appui du CRSNG, et communiquer ces résultats au CRSNG par courriel à l’adresse ambassadeurs@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.  

Dépenses admissibles

La subvention couvrira les couts suivants associés à la participation du ou des jeunes à un concours en sciences naturelles ou en génie :

  • les frais relatifs au matériel et aux fournitures nécessaires pour créer l’affiche, le modèle ou la démonstration scientifique à présenter au concours;
  • les frais de déplacement (avion, train, location de voiture, taxi, etc.) pour se rendre au lieu du concours;
  • les frais de repas;
  • les frais d’hébergement (hôtel, etc.);
  • les frais d’inscription au concours.

Présentations des demandes

Les organismes doivent présenter le formulaire de demande de subvention pour jeunes innovateurs du CRSNG dument rempli par voie électronique à partir du This link will take you to another Web site site de présentation sécurisée des demandes aux programmes de collaborations novatrices et de promotion des sciences du CRSNG. La demande doit être présentée sous la forme d’un document unique en format PDF.

Date limite

Il n’y a aucune date limite pour demander ces subventions. Il faut présenter la demande de deux à six mois avant le début du concours visé afin de laisser suffisamment de temps pour le traitement de la demande et le versement des montants.

Annonce des résultats

Le CRSNG vous informera des résultats au cours du mois suivant la réception de la demande, à l’adresse de courriel indiquée dans la demande. Les subventions sont accordées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi et jusqu’à l’épuisement des fonds disponibles pour l’exercice (du 1er avril au 31 mars).

Si vous avez des questions au sujet des subventions ou de la façon de présenter une demande, ou souhaitez obtenir plus de renseignements, envoyez un courriel à l’adresse ambassadeurs@nserc-crsng.gc.ca en indiquant la mention « Jeunes innovateurs du CRSNG » dans le champ Objet.