Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee members

Name Organization
Anne Ballantyne (Chair)
Corporate Strategy Advisor
Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation
Susan Blum
Associate Vice-President, Applied Research and Innovation
Saskatchewan Polytechnic
Laurie Dmytryshyn
Chief of Equity Investment
PIC Investment Group Inc.
Darren Fast
Director, Partnerships and Innovation
University of Manitoba
Curtis Hull
Project Director
Climate Change Connection
Melanie Martin
Director, MRM Centre; Professor, Physics
University of Winnipeg
Tanya McDonald
Senior Executive Advisor, Agriculture, Research and Advancement
Lakeland College
Rhonda Orr
Past Manager, Research and Development
Manitoba Hydro
Brendan Reding
Regional Director, Industrial Research Assistance Program
National Research Council Canada
Tracey Scarlett
BioQuest Ventures Inc.
Richard Smith
President and CEO
BioLargo Water Inc.
Mel Wong
Co-Founder and Partner
Synergia Associates
Ex-officio members
Name Organization
Susan Chatwood
NSERC Council Member
Associate Professor, School of Public Health
University of Alberta
Anas El-Aneed
NSERC Council Member
Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
University of Saskatchewan
Misheck Mwaba
NSERC Council Member
President and CEO
Bow Valley College